The Day of the Doctor

Image

WARNING: Spoilers ahead.

First off, it felt too bland for me.

I don’t know, I must have expected too much. Two all-time favorites and a new Doctor felt very exciting to me. I thought it was going to be something adventurous, with bigger explosions. All I saw were just fizzles.

I was completely excited that Tennant and Piper were returning. I was hoping that the parallel universe would open up because of something great, and that the Doctor and Rose would meet each other again. But no, Rose just had to be a conscience of the Moment, with a regeneration of the Doctor that hasn’t even met her before. It must have been because I thought the Doctor and Rose never really had a proper closure. I’m sure meta-crisis Tenth Doctor is great, he is everything he was except he had one heart. But he still isn’t the real Doctor. Don’t even try to shake my belief. But it did give me the notion that of all the people the Doctor has met in all his lives, it was Rose that was formed by the conscience to help the War Doctor decide. She could make him reconsider. She could touch his two hearts. He hasn’t even met her yet, and still it was her. It implies that Rose Tyler made the biggest influence, not Donna, or Amy, it was Rose. That somehow calmed me.

Another one that I didn’t really like was that it changed the Time War. I know, it must make me sound heartless, wanting an entire planet, an entire race to be killed. Killed by the Doctor. But isn’t that why he was the way he was? Isn’t it the reason of all the angst the Ninth Doctor had, where he would transform from acting like a child, to a war veteran filled with scars that no one else can see? Didn’t that make him more kinder, more gentle to every species he ever meets? He didn’t want to kill anybody who would mess with the human race. If the Doctor did not learn it the hard way, he would not have the same heart, same compassion that we grew to love. After two regenerations, there he is, more accepting of loss and more willing to save the people he cares for. If he didn’t lost it all that day, what would become of him now? Would he still be the same?

Also that does bring us to the point in fact that because the Doctor knows Gallifrey is somewhere out there, he would start looking for it. Obviously. It’s his home, it’s where he belongs. He now knows he is not the only Gallifreian in the whole universe. Of course he has to go back. But where would he even start? It took him all his regenerations to keep it safe, would it take the same to look for it, making the sonic screwdriver calculate another 400 years? How about everybody else that needs his help? Especially us, what would become of us?

Which also brings the case in point that the Doctor made a TEMPORAL PARADOX BY SAVING GALLIFREY THEREFORE THE TARDIS SHOULD BE IN A TIME VORTEX LIMBO AND CREATURES OUTSIDE OF TIME THAT ARE EATING US ALL BY NOW.

Anyway, I have to admit, it was pretty entertaining when the Doctors were interacting with one another. Redecorating and punch line jokes were a low blow, but it’s a classic Doctor humor, so I’ll let that pass. Clara is always as smart as ever, opening the door that took three Doctors 400 years to calculate its molecular structure. And I’ve always expected the Doctor would get into some hitching accident. On a different note, the blowing up of London does relate to Gallifrey in a way. It’s not an entire planet, but a nuclear explosion on a place as famous as London could cause chaos for the entire Earth. Refer to ‘How I Live Now’. Shit would go down.

All I’m saying is that the mistakes the Doctor made built him to what he was now, and blowing up his own planet was the biggest lesson he had and in my opinion. Changing it could change everything. It’s up to Moffat on how to keep things intact.

I would give this episode a 6.5/10. Instead of giving me pleasure, the episode gave me more questions and disappointed hopes. As usual, I blame it all on Moffat.

Leave a Reply

