Dark Sonnet by Neil Gaiman

I don’t think that I’ve been in love as such

although I liked a few folk pretty well

Love must be vaster than my smiles or touch

for brave men died and empires rose and fell

for love, girls follow boys to foreign lands

and men have followed women into hell

In plays and poems someone understands

there’s something makes us more than blood and bone

And more than biological demands for me love’s like the wind unseen, unknown

I see the trees are bending where it’s been

I know that it leaves wreckage where it’s blown

I really don’t know what I love you means

I think it means don’t leave me here alone

Encountered this lovely poem by Neil Gaiman through this and needless to say it spoke to me. As a kid, I have been a huge fan of the fairy tales, of happily ever after, where everything is fine and dandy. It gave me this idea that I wanted that, I wanted my own version of the infamous fairy tales that stood the test of time. So I waited, I didn’t settle, and embarrassingly had a incredibly high standard. Not settling and having standards is fine, but I suppose my view got incredibly crooked, and yet I wonder why I didn’t have anybody.

Then one day I did, and boy was it a whirlwind. Everything was moving so fast, like I was in the middle of a hurricane.

And it is still by far the best thing I have experienced.

I laugh and cry and rage and feel. I became brave, I became strong. I didn’t keep myself under that safety zone I have always been and stepped out of my shadows. Love is supposed to drive you crazy. Anything less is nothing.

Leave a Reply

